The Sky is Falling, The Sky is Falling

Standard

In my lifetime, a span of seven decades, I have had the opportunity to observe several elections, some that went the way I had hoped, some that didn’t.  I have heard campaign promises last as long as the echoes in the building where they were spoken.  I have watched and worried about decisions made in far away places erode my freedoms and burden my grandchildren with the costs incurred.  I have witnessed political unrest, demonstrations, riots, and embarrassments over which I had no control adversely impact my life.  In spite of my longevity granting me these experiences, I am now witnessing something not previously experienced.

The President-elect will not take office until January 20, 2017, but I cannot read, listen, or watch a news program without hearing prognostications of impending disaster for our nation because of what this man will allegedly do based on statements made during the campaign or at some point in the distant past.  I hear claims that he is unqualified for the office, but Article II, Section 1, Clause 5 of the Constitution sets the following qualifications for holding the presidency:

I hear predictions of economic disaster, failed international policy, anti-union actions, destruction of Social Security, and the list goes on.  The sky is NOT falling.  A new administration has been chosen for the executive branch of our government.  A new balance of power has been elected to Congress and the Senate, and nothing else has happened or will happen until those elected people take office.  Once that happens, it will take many months for changes to occur and what those changes ultimately will be remains a mystery to me and to all the prophets who are wringing their hands and telling anyone who will listen that the sky is falling.  To borrow an old adage, predict in one hand, poop in the other and see which fills up the fastest.  The future will unfold in its own way as it has done from time immemorial.

 

Leave a Reply

